Winding down for Xmas

I made it. Fourteen years after that fateful January day in the Pantanal, Brasil, I managed to successfully mount, navigate and dismount a horse. Back in 2005, when my horse saw home and decided to bolt, I ended up face down in a snake-infested swamp and was lucky to not suffer any longer-term injuries, aside from the mental scars. Thus when Mike´s fiancé, Paula, mentioned that we were going on a ´Cabalgata´ to celebrate Mike´s 32nd birthday, my enthusiasm was somewhat muted. Cabalgatas are, I have learned, a very Colombian thing; a mixture of a wholesome outdoor pursuit with an excuse to get a bit merry during the day. Groups of friends rent horses for around three or four hours, ride out into the hills of Antioquia, stop halfway for some grub and then return, slightly half-cut if you´re not careful. Indeed, on our ride, the aguardiente kept flowing, as did the stunning vistas and typical ranchera music. For me, the experience was positive, largely thanks to my ´mansito´ horse who, to her credit, remained calm and mild-mannered despite being ridden by a clueless, aguardiente-swigging novice. Content to stay in first and second gear, she´s gone some way in helping me banish my fear of horse-riding. Andres´ horse was a whole different story; in fact, I think he may be giving up the English teaching next year to concentrate on becoming a cowboy. If I had been on his horse, pretty sure I wouldn´t be writing this blog today!

There has been excitement in Rionegro over the past few weeks, as its football team reached the semi-finals of the closing championship play-offs. Here in Colombia, the top eight teams inexplicably go into a play-off to decide the overall winner at the end of what has already been a long, hard-fought season. Despite finishing seventh – an achievement in itself for a team that does not charge fans for entry and which has a fraction of the resources of its rich Medellín neighbours – Rionegro Aguilas had a chance of winning the closing season. After progressing against Once Caldas, winning me a cool 25 grand (pesos, sadly) in the process, Rionegro just came up short against Junior, of Baranquilla. As the cliché goes, they left themselves with too much to do as a valiant 1-1 draw in Baranquilla was not enough to overturn the 3-2 defeat they suffered at home. Still, qualification for the Copa Sudamericana will mean some tasty away trips next season….

I missed both play-off home games, the first through illness and the second due to the fact that I went to see ´Bohemian Rhapsody´ and had to travel all the way to Medellín to watch it in original version. Why more cinemas don´t show original version films here is beyond me, especially when Rionegro is currently promoting its ´Rionegro Bilingue´ programme! I´m glad I made the effort, though, and I´m quite glad I hadn’t read all the mixed reviews I have heard it´s been getting at home. I thought it was excellent, however many truths may have been dramatized, exaggerated or ignored; that´s cinema and the artistic license it affords. For me, the film still portrayed the intended message and paid homage to a truly great artist and fascinating individual. It even moved my Colombian friend to tears….that´s not saying much, though.

´Christmas´ has now also begun in Rionegro. The lights are up, and were turned on as soon as December arrived, and things have wound down even more so than they would have done in the UK. I have hardly had any classes for two weeks, with the students now gone for what is their long holiday (they return in early February). Sara and I have run Immersion Days for English Teachers and UCO employees but the contact time is now limited. Instead, I´ll be spending the next week making educational videos with my lovely British accent. Plans are also afoot for my seven week holiday, which starts this Friday….January is taken care of, with visits from Matthew, Jon and George over three weeks and trips to el Cafetero and Sapzurro in the diary.  December is still a bit in the air but doing something semi-productive, while allowing myself enough time to enjoy an authentically Colombian Christmas, is the priority.

Hasta la próxima…..

2 thoughts on “Winding down for Xmas

Leave a comment